Skip to content

How do you keep track of what you read?

April 26, 2011

Do you remember what you read last month? How about last year? A few years ago?

I remember when I thought I would be able to remember every book I ever read. Ok, I was probably only about 12 when I felt that way. Now, (not too many years later) I realize how foolish that idea was. I’ve read so many books since then only a few stand out in my memory. If only I had kept track of what I read then.

A few years ago I started a web 2.0 journey which taught me so many things about the online world. That was when I was introduced to a thing called LibraryThing. An online database that will keep track of books – what you’ve read, what you want to read and much more. Being a book lover this really excited me so I dug right in. Since then I have learned other online sites to help keep track of what you’re reading. To name a few:

  • LibraryThing – LibraryThing is an online service to help people catalog their books easily. A free account allows you to catalog up to 200 books. A paid account allows you to catalog any number of books.
  • Good Reads – See what your friends are reading. Join a book club. Keep track of what you’ve read and organize your books into virtual bookshelves.
  • Listology – a user-contributed, searchable collection of book lists.
  • Shelfari – Shelfari is a community-powered encyclopedia for book lovers. Create a virtual bookshelf, discover new books, connect with friends and learn more about your favorite books – all for free.

Many people keep track of what they read by blogging. Here are a few blogs that feature book reviews:

  • Minnesota Reads – a blog written by Minnesota writers about the books they read and local book events.
  • Friday Reads -a global community of thousands of people who come together each week to share whatever they’re reading.
  • Friends and Friends’ Bookstore – This site will share information about the Friends of the Rochester Public Library, Book sales and events, and the Bookstore. In addition, the Book Whisperer, a Friend of the Library, will make book recommendations.
  • President Ramaley’s bookshelf -Judith Ramalely, President of Winona State University, shares her current reading selections and recommendations.
  • 100 Best blogs for Book Reviews – It seems that a large number of book fanatics love to write about what they’ve read almost as much as doing the actual reading.

What method do you use to keep track of what you read? Where do you find good book reviews?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. benjamin M permalink
    May 4, 2012 10:08 am

    Thanks for recommending librarything, amazing forum. I didn’t know it existed. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Question for reviewers...

Leave a Reply

